I have notifications on when someone joins and maybe 75% of the time after I see the notification their account is “deleted” because they changed the privacy settings.
It’s not the end of the world but I do wish more people wouldn’t automatically pick the maximum privacy setting so that we could actually, yknow use it
Not really, it’s still encrypted. If you’re not a political dissident and just using Signal to chat with friends then it is helpful to make yourself available to said friends.
I have notifications on when someone joins and maybe 75% of the time after I see the notification their account is “deleted” because they changed the privacy settings.
It’s not the end of the world but I do wish more people wouldn’t automatically pick the maximum privacy setting so that we could actually, yknow use it
Not picking the max privacy setting defeats the point of using it for privacy.
Classic catch 22!
Not really, it’s still encrypted. If you’re not a political dissident and just using Signal to chat with friends then it is helpful to make yourself available to said friends.
i’d say default to maximum and then opt in to less and less privacy